Spread ‘peace and good will’ to all animals this festive season.
Posted 04 Dec 2023
Posted on the 11th October 2019
Kellogg’s is one of the world’s best know cereal brands, and indeed many people enjoy their cereals. However, the majority of their cereals contain animal-derived vitamin D which makes them unsuitable for vegans.
Whilst Kellogg’s does have a number of vegan cereals and products, they could expand this range extensively by simply switching the vitamin D used in their cereals to a plant-based version.
The vitamin D currently used in most of Kellogg’s products is an animal-derived version of vitamin D3. This comes from a substance called lanolin, which is found in sheep’s wool.
Vegans avoid wool and products made from wool for a number of reasons. Firstly, there is an inherent link between the wool industry and the meat industry. Additionally, undercover investigations into the wool industry have shown abuse and horrific treatment of gentle sheep during the sheering process.
Plant-based vitamin D can be in the form of vitamin D2 or a plant-derived D3.
This simple swap does nothing to alter the taste or quality of the product, but it does open it up to a huge and ever-growing vegan market.
Please join us in urging Kellogg’s to swap the vitamin D3 in their cereals for a vegan version.
Tweet them: Hello @KelloggsUK & @Kelloggshelp_uk! Whilst it is great that you have some cereals that are suitable for vegans, most of your cereals would be vegan but for the use of animal-derived vitamin D3. Please will you swap this for a plant-based version? This would make so many of your delicious cereals vegan! Thank you.
Comment on their Facebook page: Hey Kellogg’s.
I love your vegan cereals! However, it would be great if you switched the vitamin D3 used in your other cereals to a plant-based version – this would make so many of your products suitable for vegans without impacting upon the taste or quality of the product.